An interdisciplinary and international society examining all aspects of 18th-century Scottish culture and society

ECSSS Lifetime Achievement Award

The ECSSS Lifetime Achievement Award is bestowed upon scholars who have made outstanding contributions to eighteenth-century Scottish Studies over the course of their careers. Honorees are announced at the annual conference.

Recipients of the ECSSS Lifetime Achievement Award:

2013 (Paris) Susan Manning (1953-2013)

2012 (Columbia) Jane Rendall

2011 (Aberdeen) Nicholas Phillipson (1937-2018)

2009 (St. Andrews) M. A. Stewart

2008 (Halifax) Roger L. Emerson

2007 (Montpellier) Andrew Hook

2006 (Williamsburg) Richard B. Sher

2003 (Charleston) G. Ross Roy (1924-2013)

2001 (Arlington) Hiroshi Mizuta

1998 (Utrecht) Ian Simpson Ross (1913-2015)

1992 (Philadelphia) Thomas Crawford (1920–2014)

1987 (Virginia Beach) David Daiches (1912–2005)